West, Dean

West, Dean

Born in Australia in 1983 and now living and working in New York in the field of Fine Art and Commercial Photography.

A wide range of environments and character types are explored in the works of New York City-based Dean West. The Australian-born (1983) artist who studied at the Queensland College of Art, is best known for his intricate and highly staged photographs that take everyday occurrences beyond the realm of natural reality.

In 2015 West started working with themes based around memory, recreating moments, either from stories recounted to him by friends, or from his own memories, blurring the boundaries of fact and fiction to gloriously theatrical effect. West’s style is an usual but utterly compelling method for constructing a photograph. The results are strangely cinematic – like day-to-day situations that have had the animation sucked out of them; oneiric, fantastical set-ups that echo with old school Americana.

Dedicated to the vast possibilities of digital photography as both a medium and a cultural epoch, West’s narratives draw inspiration from the total diversity offered by the visual arts. While the tableau photography of Stan Douglas and Jeff Wall inform West’s understanding of photography as a form of contemporary communication, the paintings of David Hockney and Edward Hopper provide evident aesthetic direction. The fictional world of cinema and the functional language of advertising have also clearly left their mark and taught lessons of their own.



Links:
Website
Instagram




Products

Portfolios

West, Dean

West, Dean

Geboren 1983 in Australien und lebt und arbeitet heute in New York im Bereich Fine Art und Commercial Photography.

In den Arbeiten des in New York City ansässigen Dean West werden verschiedenste Umgebungen und Charaktere erforscht. Der 1983 in Australien geborene Künstler, der am Queensland College of Art studiert hat, ist vor allem für seine komplexen und hochinszenierten Fotografien bekannt, die alltägliche Ereignisse jenseits der natürlichen Realität zeigen.

Im Jahr 2015 begann West mit Themen rund um die Erinnerung zu arbeiten, indem er Momente tradiert, entweder aus Geschichten, die ihm von Freunden erzählt wurden, oder aus seinen eigenen Erlebnissen. Wests Stil ist eine gebräuchliche, aber absolut überzeugende Methode, um ein Foto zu gestalten. Die Ergebnisse sind seltsam filmisch - wie alltägliche Situationen, aus denen die Animation herausgesaugt wurde; traumhafte, phantastische Setups, die an die "Old School Americana" erinnern.

Den großen Möglichkeiten der digitalen Fotografie als Medium und Kulturepoche gewidmet, lassen sich die Erzählungen des Westens von der ganzen Vielfalt der bildenden Kunst inspirieren. Während die Tableau-Fotografie von Stan Douglas und Jeff Wall Wests Verständnis von Fotografie als eine Form der zeitgenössischen Kommunikation vermittelt, geben die Bilder von David Hockney und Edward Hopper eine klare ästhetische Richtung vor. Auch die fiktive Welt des Kinos und die funktionale Sprache der Werbung haben ihre Spuren hinterlassen und eigene Lehren gezogen.



Links:
Website
Instagram


Produkte

Portfolios