Portfolios of the Week w2

05.2018 - ALPA presents «Portfolios of the Week w2»


Since we are always interested to see the work of the ALPA photographers from around the world, the porfolio section on our website is very important to us.

Our goal is to showcase outstanding works on our website to give you an impression of what is possible if you work with an ALPA camera setup and of course to provide spotlight for the photographers behind the works. To make sure, the photographers and their work get all the attention they deserve, we decided to upload once a week the best portfolios and call it «Portfolios of the Week». During this week we will also share the work through our social media channels, giving it the utmost visibility possible.


For this week, we like to present works by Fabrice Fouillet, Jakob Bosch and Steffen Schraegle.




Fabrice Fouillet - Colosses

"Statues are often idealized works of art, ideological, political or religious representations, and turn their subjects into fascinating eternal figures. Once erected to keep alive the memory of a particular person or event, in a given culture, it lasts through many generations and establishes itself a symbol for the community.
Statues are even more influential when they are outstanding. An edifice can be said to be monumental when it is unusual, extraordinary. It has to be abnormal, as exceptional as the political or religious power itself, also inseparable from its symbolic aspects.

The series “Colosses” is a study of the landscapes embracing those monumental commemorative statues.
Although hugeness is appealing, exhilarating or even fascinating, I was first intrigued by the human need to build gigantic declarations. Then, I asked myself how such « works » could be connected to their surroundings. How can they fit in the landscapes, despite their excessive dimensions and their fundamental symbolic and traditional functions?

I chose to photograph the statues from a standpoint outside their formal surroundings, and to favour a more detached view, watching them from the sidelines. This detachment enabled a wider view of the landscape and to place the monuments in a more contemporary dimension.

Human figures appear sporadically and confront their own insignificance to the greatness of symbols. The physical relationship to the statue’s surroundings explicitly recalls the spectator’s body and its integration in time. Thus, the characters are reduced to miniatures and emphasize the disproportion.

As a wave of « statuomania » swept over the world in the 1990s, many huge statues were built. Most of them are located in Asia and represent the Buddha. The world’s highest statue is under construction in India. It will honour the independence hero Sardar Patel and will reach 182 meters."
Fabrice Fouillet

Photographer's page: Fabrice Fouillet
Portfolio: Colosses


©Fabrice Fouillet



Jakob Bosch - Utah

"Landscapes from a Roadtrip trough Utah, Arizona and Nevada"
Jakob Bosch

Photographer's page: Jakob Bosch
Portfolio: Utah


©Jakob Bosch



Steffen Schraegle - Landscape

Photographer's page: Steffen Schraegle
Portfolio: Landscape


©Steffen Schraegle


News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

Portfolios of the Week w2

05.2018 - ALPA präsentiert die "Portfolios der Woche"

Da wir uns immer für die Arbeiten der ALPA-Fotografen aus aller Welt interessieren, ist uns der Porfolio-Bereich auf unserer Website sehr wichtig.

Unser Ziel ist es seit jeher, auf unserer Homepage herausragende Arbeiten zu präsentieren , um Ihnen einen Eindruck davon zu vermitteln, was möglich ist, wenn Sie mit einer ALPA-Kamera arbeiten und natürlich die Fotografen hinter den Arbeiten ins Rampenlicht zu stellen.

Um sicherzustellen, dass die Fotografen und ihre Arbeit die Aufmerksamkeit erhalten, die sie verdienen, haben wir beschlossen, die besten Portfolios der Woche hochzuladen und es "Portfolios der Woche" zu nennen. Während dieser Woche werden wir die Arbeiten auch über unsere Social-Media-Kanäle verbreiten, um die größtmögliche Sichtbarkeit zu erreichen.


In der ersten Woche (w1) präsentieren wir Arbeiten von Fabrice Fouillet, Jakob Bosch und Steffen Schraegle.




Fabrice Fouillet - Colosses

"Statuen sind oft idealisierte Kunstwerke, ideologische, politische oder religiöse Darstellungen und machen ihre Subjekte zu faszinierenden, ewigen Figuren. Einmal errichtet, um die Erinnerung an eine bestimmte Person oder ein bestimmtes Ereignis in einer Kultur lebendig zu halten, hält sie sich über viele Generationen und ist ein Symbol für die Gemeinschaft.
Statuen sind noch einflussreicher, wenn sie herausragend sind. Ein Bauwerk kann als monumental bezeichnet werden, wenn es ungewöhnlich und außergewöhnlich ist. Sie muss anormal sein, so außergewöhnlich wie die politische oder religiöse Macht selbst, auch untrennbar mit ihren symbolischen Aspekten verbunden.

Die Serie "Colosses" ist eine Studie über die Landschaften, die diese monumentalen Gedenkstatuen umfassen.
Obwohl die Grösse ansprechend, erheiternd oder sogar faszinierend ist, war ich zuerst fasziniert von dem menschlichen Bedürfnis, gigantische Deklarationen zu erstellen. Dann fragte ich mich, wie solche "Werke" mit ihrer Umgebung verbunden werden können. Wie können sie sich in die Landschaften einfügen, trotz ihrer übermäßigen Dimensionen und ihrer grundlegenden symbolischen und traditionellen Funktionen?

Ich entschied mich dafür, die Statuen von einem Standpunkt außerhalb ihrer formalen Umgebung aus zu fotografieren und eine distanziertere Sichtweise zu bevorzugen, indem ich sie von der Seitenlinie aus beobachtete. Diese Loslösung ermöglichte einen breiteren Blick auf die Landschaft und die Platzierung der Monumente in einer zeitgenössischeren Dimension.

Menschliche Figuren erscheinen sporadisch und konfrontieren ihre eigene Bedeutungslosigkeit mit der Größe von Symbolen. Die physische Beziehung zur Umgebung der Statue erinnert explizit an den Körper des Betrachters und seine zeitliche Integration. So werden die Figuren auf Miniaturen reduziert und unterstreichen das Missverhältnis.

Als in den 1990er Jahren eine Welle von "Statuomanie" über die Welt fegte, wurden viele riesige Statuen gebaut. Die meisten von ihnen befinden sich in Asien und repräsentieren den Buddha. Die höchste Statue der Welt befindet sich in Indien im Bau, sie wird den Unabhängigkeitshelden Sardar Patel ehren und eine Höhe von 182 Meter erreichen."
Fabrice Fouillet


Fotografen Seite: Fabrice Fouillet
Portfolio: Colosses


©Fabrice Fouillet



Jakob Bosch - Utah

"Landschaftsfotografie von einem Roadtrip durch Utah, Arizona und Nevada."
Jakob Bosch

Fotografen Seite: Jakob Bosch
Portfolio: Utah


©Jakob Bosch



Steffen Schraegle - Landscape

Fotografen Seite: Steffen Schraegle
Portfolio: Landscape


©Steffen Schraegle


News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker