Reaching the Cape

09.2015 - The brand name ALPA is nowadays mostly associated with impressive technical camera and ALPA is committed to premium quality nature- and landscape photography with its cameras like the XY and MAX. Owing to sensational architecture and landscape images of passionate ALPA photographers, the suitability of other ALPA models as lightweight but yet high-end travel- and reportage cameras wrongly falls behind.

However, the very subject ‚Reportage’ is inseparable with the beginnings of the ALPA medium format cameras almost 20 years ago, as the first ALPA photographer was no other person then the famous Magnum photographer Raymond Depardon. And still to this day, ‚the ALPA’ of choice for the ambitious travel photographer often falls onto the traditional WA/SWA or its modern interpretation for the digital era, the TC/STC.

One of them is Matteo di Giovanni from Milano, Italy: During his studies in London he already gave the subject of reportage a great deal of attention. But a serious road accident in Serbia during his final thesis left him with an amputated leg and a devastated ambition. But after a long recovery time he is back and ventures out to take on an inspiring restart with his ambitious project ‚Reaching the Cape’. In this very personal project, he will depict how modern medical technology like his high-end prosthesis enable the realisation of personal dreams and goals.

Starting his adventure on October 1st 2015, he will be accompanied by an ALPA SWA and the two lenses HELVETAR 48mm and the ALPAGON 70mm. As oftentimes in his projects, Matteo will work again exclusively analogue on classic 120 roll-film in the format 6x7. We are happy to support him in this personal project of his and are excited about the unfolding of his journey, which we will inform you about in an ongoing report.

To enable his journey, Matteo launched a Kickstarter campaign:
Reaching the Cape on Kickstarter
Find more information about his project here:
www.reachingthecape.com


002343
160028050_DSC_1974

News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

Reaching the Cape

09.2015 - Der Markenname ALPA wird heute vor allem mit bestechenden Technischen Kameras verbunden und ALPA steht mit seinen Kameras wie der XY und der MAX für hochqualitative Natur- und Landschaftsphotographie. Dank der aufsehenerregenden Aufnahmen von Architektur und Natur aus den Händen passionierter ALPA Photographen kann leicht die Eignung der anderen ALPA Modelle als leichte, zugleich aber auch hochqualitative Reise- und Reportagekameras zu Unrecht ins Hintertreffen geraten.

Dabei ist gerade die Anfangszeit der ALPA Mittelformatkameras vor knapp zwanzig Jahren untrennbar mit dem Genre „Reportage“ verbunden, war doch der erste ALPA Kunde niemand weniger als der berühmte Magnum Fotograf Raymond Depardon. Und auch heute noch ist „die ALPA“ meist in Gestalt der „traditionellen“ WA/SWA oder ihrer modernen Neu-Interpretation für das digitale Zeitalter, der TC/STC das Mittel der Wahl für anspruchsvolle Reisefotografen.

Einer von ihnen ist Matteo di Giovanni aus Mailand: Bereits während seines Studiums in London setzte er sich intensiv mit Reportagefotografie auseinander. Doch ein schwere Unfall während seiner Abschlussarbeit in Serbien kostete ihn ein Bein und schien seine Ambitionen zu zerstören. Doch nun ist er nach einer längeren Genesungsphase zurück und wagt mit seinem ambitionierten Projekt „Reaching the Cape“ einen inspirierenden Neustart. In diesem persönlichen Projekt wird er schildern, wie moderne Medizintechnik wie seine High-Tech-Prothese es ermöglicht, persönliche Träume und Ziele zu verwirklichen.

Begleitet wird er auf seiner am 1. Oktober beginnenden Reise von einer ALPA 12 SWA mit den beiden Objektiven HELVETAR 48mm und ALPAGON 70mm. Wie öfter in seinen Projekten wird Matteo auch diesmal rein analog, auf klassischem 120er Rollfilm im Format 6x7 arbeiten. Wir freuen uns, ihn bei der Realisierung seines ganz persönlichen Projekts unterstützen zu können und sind gespannt auf den Verlauf seiner Reise, über den wir Sie laufend informieren werden.

Um seine Reise zu ermöglichen, hat Matteo einen Kickstarter-Kampagne ins Leben gerufen:
Reaching the Cape auf Kickstarter
Weitere Infos zu seinem Projekt finden Sie unter:
www.reachingthecape.com


002343
160028050_DSC_1974

News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker