Photo19

01.2019 - Today is the opening of Switzerland's biggest photo fair, the "PHOTO19". Since the first edition of photoSCHWEIZ in 2005, the exhibition has developed into by far the largest and most important exhibition of photography in Switzerland in the fourteen years of its existence, and today it is considered to be one of the most renowned and largest photo events in Europe.

Dates:
January 10 - 14
Hours:
11am - 8pm
Location:
Halle 622 and StageOne in Zurich, CH


Each year, over 250 photographers show their favourite pictures of the past year on around 7,000 square metres in the premises of StageOne and Hall 622 in ZurichOerlikon. In 2018, photoSwitzerland had around 27,000 visitors. The five-day exhibition will be complemented by special exhibitions, off-spaces and the photoFORUM with lectures by photography icons. The makers of photoSCHWEIZ BLOFELD Entertainment are also successfully organising the graphicSCHWEIZ and architekturSCHWEIZ shows, the public science festival Salon Public and the Songbird Festival in Davos.

We are pleased to announce, that several photographers working with ALPA systems are featured in this years exhibition and as Speakers in the photoForum.



Joshua Loher - hybrid series #1

"The special presence of images created with pinhole cameras fascinates me. The blurred and imperfect gives the pictures their own unmistakable expression. Despite their obvious flaws, these pictures show an enormous power.

As an architectural photographer, i was interested in architectural photography. I began to research whether a pinhole camera could be combined with the advantages of a digital view camera. After discussions with the camera manufacturer ALPA, I was able to produce a pinhole lens that corresponded to my ideas. The pictures shown here were taken with the analog-digital-hybrid camera system created especially for this project."



Image © Joshua Loher



Damian Poffet - ASTANA - The new capital

A young republic seeks its identity.

After the collapse of the Soviet Union, Kazakhstan emerged as an independent republic in 1991. The young state has since become the ninth largest country in the world in terms of surface area - and yet it is still largely unknown.

How does an authority state build a representative city in inhospitable surroundings on almost unrestricted land? The photographer Damian Poffet already pursued this question in his work on the Chinese city of Ordos in Inner Mongolia. Like Ordos, Astana lies in a vast steppe area. In his photographic work, Poffet is interested in the gigantic scale of such planned cities. His pictures confront the ambitious architecture with the rapid wear and tear of rapidly erected buildings under extreme climatic conditions. Or he shows the remains of an old settlement along with new buildings, always striving for an unbiased view.



Image © Damian Poffet


Speaker:

Luca Zanier - Architectural Photography as Art

The Zurich photographer Luca Zanier has been dealing with spaces for years - often large, representative and functional spaces that he shows from a different perspective. Always without people and with a high aesthetic standard. He uses several examples to show how he implements these surprising and sometimes abstract images: from planning to implementation and post-production.

How do you deal with mixed light situations?
What to do about Moirée?
Is there a perfect moment?
How many pictures are needed for perfect photography?
What happens during post-processing?

Luca has suitable and convincing answers to these questions. A presentation for amateurs and professionals.


Image © Luca Zanier


Links:

photoSCHWEIZ 19
Joshua Loher
Damian Poffet
Luca Zanier






News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

Photo19

01.2019 - Seit der ersten Ausgabe der photoSCHWEIZ im Jahr 2005 hat sich die Werkschau in den vierzehn Jahren ihres Bestehens zu der mit Abstand grössten und bedeutendsten Werkschau für Fotografie in der Schweiz entwickelt und gilt heute als eine der renommiertesten und grössten Fotoveranstaltungen in Europa.

Daten:
10. - 14.Januar
Öffnungszeiten: 11-20Uhr
Ort: Halle622 und StageOne in Zürich, CH

Jeweils über 250 Fotografinnen und Fotografen zeigen jährlich auf rund 7‘000 Quadratmetern in den Räumlichkeiten des StageOne und der Halle 622 in ZürichOerlikon ihre liebsten Bilder des vergangenen Jahres. Die photoSCHWEIZ zählte 2018 rund 27’000 Besucher. Die fünftägige Werkschau wird durch Sonderausstellungen, Off-Spaces und das photoFORUM mit Vorträgen von FotografieIkonen ergänzt. Die Macher der photoSCHWEIZ BLOFELD Entertainment veranstalten auch erfolgreich die Werkschauen grafikSCHWEIZ und architekturSCHWEIZ, das Public-Science-Festival Salon Public sowie das Songbird Festival in Davos.




Joshua Loher - serie hybrid #1

"die spezielle präsenz von bildern, die mit lochkameras erstellt wurden, fasziniert mich.
das unscharfe und unperfekte verleiht den bildern einen eigenen unverechselbaren ausdruck. trotz ihrer offensichtlichen mängel weisen diese bilder eine enorme kraft auf.

als architekturfotograf interessieren mich architekturaufnahmen. ich begann zu forschen, ob eine lochkamera mit den vorteilen einer digitalen fachkamera vereint werden können. nach gesprächen mit dem kamerahersteller alpa konnte eine pinhole linse gefertigt werden, die meinen vorstellungen entsprach.
die hier gezeigten bilder sind mit dem speziell für diese projekt geschaffenen analog-digital-hybrid kamerasystem entstanden..."



Image © Joshua Loher



Damian Poffet – ASTANA – Die neue Hauptstadt

Eine junge Republik sucht ihre Indentität.

Aus dem Zerfall der Sowjetunion ging Kasachstan 1991 als unabhängige Republik hervor. Der junge Staat ist seither flächenmässig das neuntgrösste Land der Welt – und trotzdem weitgehend unbekannt.

Wie baut sich ein autoritäter Staat in unwirtlicher Umgebung auf fast unbeschränktem Land eine repräsentative Stadt? Dieser Frage ging der Fotograf Damian Poffet bereits in seiner Arbeit über die chinesische Stadt Ordos in der Inneren Mongolei nach. Wie Ordos liegt Astana in einem riesigen Steppengebiet. Poffet interessiert sich in seinem fotografischen Werk für den gigantischen Massstab solcher Planstädte. Seine Bilder konfrontieren die ehrgeizige Architektur mit der raschen Abnützung schnell hochgezogener Bauten unter extremen klimatischen Bedingungen. Oder er zeigt Überreste einer alten Siedlung nebst Neubauten, stets bemüht um einen unvoreingenommenen Blick.



Image © Damian Poffet



Speaker:

Luca Zanier - Künslterische Architekturfotografie

Seit Jahren beschäftigt sich der Zürcher Fotograf Luca Zanier mit Räumen – oftmals grosse, repräsentative und funktionale Räume, die er aus einem anderen Blickwinkel zeigt. Immer ohne Menschen und mit einem hohen ästhetischen Anspruch. Wie er diese überraschenden und teilweise abstrakten Bilder umsetzt, zeigt er anhand von mehreren Beispielen: von der Planung, über die Umsetzung bis zur Nachbearbeitung.

Wie geht man mit Mischlichtsituationen um?
Was tun gegen Moirée?
Gibt es den perfekten Moment?
Wie viele Bilder braucht es für eine perfekte Fotografie?
Was passiert in der Nachbearbeitung?

Auf diese Fragen hat Luca passende und überzeugende Antworten. Ein Referat für Amateure und Berufsleute.


Image © Luca Zanier


Links:

photoSCHWEIZ 19
Joshua Loher
Damian Poffet
Luca Zanier





News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker