Luca Zanier "Power/Macht"

05.2017 - Exhibition at Prince House Gallery, Mannheim

EXHIBITION 4th of MAY - 30th of JUNE 2017
VERNISSAGE 3th of MAI 2017, 6:30PM


Prince House Gallery
Turley-Straße 8
68167 Mannheim

Luca Zaniers (* 1966) photographs are monumental insights into the political and economic control centers of our global world. In his first German solo exhibition, the Prince House Gallery Mannheim will present works by the Swiss photographer from the projects "Corridors of Power" and "Space and Energy".

Architecture and politics are a tension-filled couple. Whether the Acropolis in Athens or the glass dome of the German Bundestag - architecture has always embodied the power structures of the reigning rulers and institutions. It gives a material form to the respective form of government. In his "Corridors of Power" project, Zanier is looking for current spaces of power and their interiors that are often cut off from the public, such as the meeting room of the Communist Party in Paris (2010). The large-format photographs are characterized by a clear, linear image language and create impressive and unique monuments. There are assembly rooms and plenary chambers, committees and parliaments. This also includes courtrooms and libraries, which stand for executive violence and the ruling knowledge.

The photos from the series "Space and Energy" also show places that are hardly accessible to the public or difficult to access. In the true sense of the word "power", these photographs present the places and technologies of today's energy generation which have become self-evident for the lives of many people are. Nuclear power plants, cooling towers or tankers, dams and the main spectrometer of the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology give their heart in the futuristic photographs of Zaniers. Zanier has a special sense for these rooms and takes things into the view that they act like through-designed objects of desire.

Luca Zanier (* 1966) is a native Swiss. After his training and work as a photographer, he founded his own studio in Zurich in 1993. Since 2000, his work has been shown at home and abroad at various individual and group exhibitions. Zanier's works have received numerous prizes, including a Honorable Mention in the Santa Fe review in New Mexico (2010) and the Silver Award of the Prix de la Paris in the Fine Arts category (2011). His focus is on Landscapes, Architecture, Corporate, Industrial and Still Life, as well as reports and free artistic works.

For further information visit: PRINCE HOUSE GALLERY
Photographer's Page: Luca Zanier
Photographer Homepage: Luca Zanier



Luca Zanier: Beznau I, Kernkraftwerk Beznau, Kommandoraum 2011 © Luca Zanier



Luca Zanier: Parti Communiste Français PCF, Paris 2010 © Luca Zanier

News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

Luca Zanier "Power/Macht"

05.2017 - Ausstellung in der Prince House Gallery, Mannheim

AUSSTELLUNG 4. MAI BIS 30. JUNI 2017
VERNISSAGE 3. MAI 2017, AB 18:30 UHR


Prince House Gallery
Turley-Straße 8
68167 Mannheim


Luca Zaniers (*1966) Fotografien sind monumentale Einblicke in politische und wirtschaftliche Schaltzentralen unserer globalen Welt. Die Prince House Gallery Mannheim präsentiert in der ersten deutschen Einzelausstellung Werke des Schweizer Fotografen aus den Projekten "Corridors of Power" und "Space and Energy".

Architektur und Politik sind ein spannungsreiches Paar. Ob die Akropolis in Athen oder die Glaskuppel des Deutschen Bundestages – Architektur verkörpert seit jeher die Machtgefüge der regierenden Herrscher und Institutionen. Sie gibt der jeweiligen Herrschaftsform eine materielle Gestalt. In seinem Projekt “Corridors of Power” ist Zanier auf der Suche nach aktuellen Räumen der Macht und nimmt ihre oft von der Öffentlichkeit abgeschnittenen Innenräume in den Blick, wie etwa den Versammlungsraum der Kommunistischen Partei in Paris (2010). Die großformatigen Fotografien zeichnen sich durch eine klare, lineare Bildsprache aus und erschaffen so eindrucksvolle und einzigartige Monumente. Es sind Versammlungsräume und Plenarsäle, Komitees und Parlamente. Dazu zählen ebenso Gerichtssäle und Bibliotheken, die für die exekutive Gewalt und das herrschende Wissen stehen.

Die Fotografien bergen durch ihre Zeitlosigkeit und die Abwesenheit von Menschen eine politische Dimension, ohne dabei eine Wertung vorzunehmen. Es sind sachliche Bilder von teilweise gigantischen Räumen. Die Innenarchitektur der Räume steht dabei oft in einer fühlbaren Spannung zu ihrer eigentlichen Funktion.

Die Fotografien aus der Serie "Space and Energy“ zeigen ebenfalls Orte, die der Öffentlichkeit kaum oder nur schwer zugänglich sind. Im wahren Sinne des Wortes "Power“ stellen diese Fotografien Orte und Technologien heutiger Energieerzeugung vor, die selbstverständlich für das Leben vieler Menschen geworden sind. Atomkraftwerke, Kühltürme oder Tankschiffe, Staudämme und das Hauptspektrometer des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie geben in den geradezu futuristisch wirkenden Fotografien Zaniers ihr Innerstes preis. Zanier hat ein besonderes Gespür für diese Räume und nimmt die Dinge so in den Blick, dass sie wie durchdesignte Objekte des Begehrens wirken.

Luca Zanier (*1966) ist gebürtiger Schweizer. Nach seiner Ausbildung und Arbeit als Fotograf gründete er 1993 sein eigenes Fotostudio in Zürich. Seit 2000 werden seine Arbeiten im In- und Ausland bei diversen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen gezeigt. Zaniers Arbeiten wurden mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, darunter eine Honorable Mention in der Review Santa Fe in New Mexico (2010) sowie den Silver Award des Prix de la Photographie Paris in der Kategorie Fine Arts (2011). Luca Zanier Schwerpunkte sind Landscapes, Architecture, Corporate, Industrial und StillLife sowie Reportagen und freie künstlerische Arbeiten.



Luca Zanier: Beznau I, Kernkraftwerk Beznau, Kommandoraum 2011 © Luca Zanier



Luca Zanier: Parti Communiste Français PCF, Paris 2010 © Luca Zanier





News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker