I Like to Move It

01.2018 - Tilt and Shift are still special applications in the "35mm" range. Canon's TS-E lenses are designed for this task with the ability to perform tilt and shift in some combinations. Up to now, only the extreme wide-angle lenses TS-E 17/4.0L and TS-E 24/3.5L (now Mark II) were available as professional L-optics. Expected for quite some time, Canon now offers a new 50, 90 and 135 mm lens with the red ring as exclusive lenses.

The usable image circles of these lenses have a minimum of 65/70 mm. Since the introduction of ALPA 12 FPS (2012), ALPA has been supporting the Canon protocol with regard to these special lenses. The tilt-shift lenses with electromechanical aperture can be used in combination with digital backs for years.

Due to the introduction of the "electronic shutter" for various digital backs (Phase One IQ3 100c, Hasselblad H6D-100c, Sinar S30|45, etc.) these lenses can now also be used on any classic ALPA plus ALPA Silex control unit.

The line-up has become very grown-up with 17, 24, 50, 90, 135 mm. In December Canon Switzerland kindly provided us with their first demo lenses. In order to demonstrate the possibilities and limits, we have used the new optics on an ALPA with 100MP digital back in full adjustment of 12 mm left/right. The images were then merged into a stitched panorama of 16,500 pixels native lenght in Photoshop.

The sample images can be viewed via Zoomify or downloaded in full resolution as JPG and PDF. All details including the sensor format and various image circles have been plotted on it. The lenses were not specially selected. These are demo lenses from Canon Switzerland.

Deu to the construction, the front element is shifted during the adjustment. Without compensation of the displaced entrance pupil, a possible stereoscopic error may remain. However, this is likely to be rather unobtrusive at longer focal lengths. The stitching process, including any parallax correction, was fully automated in Photoshop CC.

As the images show, a certain movement beyond the intended image circle is possible. During shifting, however, unintentional mechanical vignetting may occur as a result the lens construction. This is due to the low rear lens group, which vignettes especially at longer focal lengths on the own tube. Nevertheless, three shots (middle unadjusted, left, right) allow panoramas with a virtual sensor of 40 x 76 mm and around 16,500 x 8,600 pixels or 142 MP to be realized.


ALPA 12 FPS With Full Line Up Canon TS-E 17, 24, 50, 90, 135 mm

The Canon lenses are very well manufactured and feature a very good imaging performance. Particularly noteworthy is the astonishingly low sensitivity to scattered light. All lenses work on the ALPA 12 FPS with Lens Module CAN or on each ALPA 12 with Lens Module and ALPA 12 Silex control unit.






St. Anton

Due to the prevailing weather conditions, we had to carry out the short test indoor in a suitable building. The church St. Anton is located around the corner and is ideally suited for this purpose. Here a picture with the Canon TS-E 90/2.8L and Phase One IQ3 100 at 12 mm rise.




Stitching

The following three pictures show the horizontal stitches with the corresponding lenses. The photographs can be explored as Zoomify images (not compatible with all browsers) or loaded as JPG and PDF in full resolution.




Canon TS-E 50/2.8L - Full Resolution JPG
Canon TS-E 50/2.8L - Full Resolution PDF
Canon TS-E 50/2.8L - Zoomify (not compatible with all browsers)





Canon TS-E 90/2.8L - Full Resolution JPG
Canon TS-E 90/2.8L - Full Resolution PDF
Canon TS-E 90/2.8L - Zoomify (not compatible with all browsers)





Canon TS-E 135/4L - Full Resolution JPG
Canon TS-E 135/4L - Full Resolution PDF
Canon TS-E 135/4L - Zoomify (not compatible with all browsers)


News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

I Like to Move It

01.2018 - Tilt und Shift stellen im „Kleinbild-Bereich“ noch immer eine Sonderanwendung dar. Die TS-E-Objektive von Canon sind für Verstellung und Schärfedehnung an deren Kleinbildbodies gedacht. Bislang waren nur die extremen Weitwinkinkel TS-E 17/4.0L und TS-E 24/3.5L (mittlerweile Mark II) als professionelle L-Optiken verfügbar. Seit längerer Zeit erwartet, bietet bietet Canon nun auch ein neues 50, 90 und 135 mm als exklusive Objektive mit dem roten Ring an.

Die nutzbaren Bildkreise dieser Objektive betragen mindestens 65/70 mm. ALPA unterstützt deshalb seit Einführung der ALPA 12 FPS (2012) das Canon-Protokoll auch hinsichtlich dieser Spezialobjektive. Die Tilt-Shift-Objektive mit elektromechanischer Blende können so schon seit Jahren auch in Verbindung mit Digitalrückteilen voll eingesetzt werden.

Durch die Einführung des "elektronischen Verschlusses" bei diversen Digitalrückteilen (Phase One IQ3 100, Hasselblad H6D-100c, Sinar S30|45, etc.) können diese Objektive nun zusätzlich auch auf jeder beliebigen klassischen ALPA plus Steuergerät ALPA Silex verwendet werden.

Das Line-Up ist mit nun 17, 24, 50, 90, 135 mm sehr erwachsen geworden. Nach längerer Zeit des Wartens hat uns Canon Schweiz im Dezember freundlicherweise ihre ersten Demo-Objektive zur Verfügung gestellt. Um die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen aufzuzeigen, haben wir die neuen Optiken an einer ALPA mit 100MP-Digitalrückteil in voller Verstellung von 12 mm links/rechts verwendet. Die Bilder wurden dann in Photoshop zu einem gestitchten Panorama von 16,500 Pixeln nativer Seitenlänge zusammengefügt.

Die Beispielbilder können über Zoomify angeschaut oder in voller Auflösung als JPG und PDF heruntergeladen werden. Darauf sind alle Details inklusive des Sensorformates und diverser Bildkreise aufgetragen. Die Objektive wurden nicht speziell ausgewählt. Es handelt sich um die Demo-Objektive von Canon Schweiz.

Bei diesen Objektiven wird bei der Verstellung das Frontelement verschoben. Ohne Kompensation der verschobenen Eintrittspupille, bleibt technisch bedingt ein möglicher stereoskopischer Fehler vorhanden. Dieser dürfte jedoch bei längeren Brennweiten eher unauffällig sein. Der Stitchingprozess erfolgte inklusive einer allfälligen Parallaxen-Korrektur vollautomatisch in Photoshop CC.

Wie die Bilder zeigen, ist eine Verstellung über den vorgesehen Bildkreis hinaus sehr wohl möglich. Bei der Verstellung kann es jedoch konstruktionsbedingt zu einer ungewollten mechanischen Vignettierung kommen. Dies aufgrund der tiefliegenden hinteren Linsengruppe, welche insbesondere bei längeren Brennweiten am eigenen Tubus vignettiert. Durch drei Aufnahmen (mittig unverstellt, links, rechts) können dennoch Panoramen mit einem virtuellen Sensor von 40 x 76 mm und rund 16,500 x 8,600 Pixeln oder 142 MP realisiert werden.


ALPA 12 FPS mit gesamter Objektivlinie Canon TS-E 17, 24, 50, 90, 135 mm

Die Canon-Objektive sind sehr gut verarbeitet und zeichnen sich durch eine sehr gute Abbildungsleistung aus. Speziell erwähnenswert ist die erstaunlich geringe Streulichtempfindlichkeit. Alle Objektive funktionieren auf der ALPA 12 FPS mit Lens Module CAN oder auf jeder ALPA 12 mit Lens Module und Steuergerät ALPA 12 Silex.







St. Anton

Aufgrund der Wetterbedingungen mussten wir den Kurztest in einem geeigneten Gebäude durchführen. Die Kirche St. Anton liegt bei uns um die Ecke und ist hierfür bestens geeignet. Hier eine Aufnahme mit dem Canon TS-E 90/2.8L und Phase One IQ3 100 bei 12 mm Hochverstellung.





Stitching


Die folgenden drei Bilder zeigen die horizontalen Stiches mit den entsprechenden Objektiven. Die Fotos können als Zoomify-Bilder (nicht mit allen Browsern kompatibel) oder als JPG und PDF in voller Auflösung geladen werden.




Canon TS-E 50/2.8L - JPGs in voller Auflösung
Canon TS-E 50/2.8L - PDFs in voller Auflösung
Canon TS-E 50/2.8L - Zoomify (nicht kompatibel mit allen Browsern)





Canon TS-E 90/2.8L - JPGs in voller Auflösung
Canon TS-E 90/2.8L - PDFs in voller Auflösung
Canon TS-E 90/2.8L - Zoomify (nicht kompatibel mit allen Browsern)





Canon TS-E 135/4L - JPGs in voller Auflösung
Canon TS-E 135/4L - PDFs in voller Auflösung
Canon TS-E 135/4L - Zoomify (nicht kompatibel mit allen Browsern)


News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker