ALPA Workshops 2019 - Part 2

04.2019 - After the successful workshops last year, we are planning another series of events for 2019. Berlin has proven to be a successful venue and so an "Architecture and Industrial Photography Workshop" and a "Focus Stacking" workshop will take place in cooperation with p: photography unlimited and ALPA partners.


Focus Stacking in Studio and Architectural Photography

11-12 May in German
18-19 May in English

The participation fee is 450 € which includes two lunches.

The (physically limited) depth of field has always been one of the most important challenges in photography. In digital photography, with its constantly increasing resolution of image data, even the technique of classically stopping down no longer solves the problem. Due to the ever smaller pixels on image sensors, stopping down very quickly leads to line distortions, thus to visibly inaccurate photographic scene depictions and significantly less sharp images. However, digital image processing also results in new solutions.

With the technology of focus stacking, i.e. the „layerwise“ shooting of a subject with an optimal, relatively open aperture, and the subsequent calculation of the individual shots, images are created with an almost unlimited depth of field and thus extremely accurate scene depictions and image quality. Integrated into a well thought-out work flow, the path to the finished image is only slightly longer than with the traditional tilt/shift technique and in many cases, will produce far exceeding results.


©
Alexander Schippel, 2019

The focus stacking technique originates from macro photography. With the appropriate equipment it can also be applied in still life photography as well as architectural and landscape photography. On the first day of the workshop we will dive into the world of studio photography after a short theoretical introduction. For this, several objects in varying sizes will be set up, allowing us to explore exciting and possibly abstract photographic worlds with equipment from ALPA, Novoflex and Phase One. The course will be led by specialists from ALPA, Novoflex and Phase One.

On the second day we will work with the technique of focus stacking in architectural photography. Again, the extensive equipment will be available to participants for testing and use, along with the accompaniment of the above mentioned instructors and the architectural photographer Alexander Schippel. The workshop will conclude with a group discussion of the results.


Venue
Oberschöneweide Industry Area, Berlin Germany

Partner
p: photography unlimited
Phase One
Novoflex




REGISTRATION
Register Now! or call 0049 (0)30 64 07 23 55


LINKS
Workshops in Berlin
Behind the Scenes by Ralph Rosenbauer
Newsletter ALPA
Newsletter p:unlimited


News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

ALPA Workshops 2019 Part 2

04.2019 - Nach den erfolgreichen Workshops im letzten Jahr, planen wir auch für 2019 wiederum eine Folge von Veranstaltungen. Berlin hat sich als Veranstaltungsort bewährt und so sollen eine "Architektur- und Industrie-Photographie-Workshop" und ein Workshop "Focus Stacking" in Zusammenarbeit mit p: photography unlimited und ALPA-Partnern stattfinden.

Focus Stacking in der Studio- und Architekturfotografie

11./12. Mai auf Deutsch
18./19. Mai auf Englisch

Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt 450€ inkl. zwei Mahlzeiten.

Die (physikalisch bedingt) begrenzte Schärfentiefe stellt beim Fotografieren schon immer eine der wichtigsten Herausforderungen dar. In der digitalen Fotografie mit ihrer stetig höher werdenden Auflösung der Bilddaten führt selbst klassisches Abblenden nicht mehr zur Lösung des Problems. Durch die immer kleiner werdenden Pixel auf den Aufnahmesensoren führt Abblenden sehr schnell zu Beugungseffekten und damit zu einer sichtbar schlechteren Abbildungsleistung und deutlich unschärferen Bildern. Durch die digitale Bildbearbeitung ergeben sich aber erfreulicherweise auch neue Lösungen.

Mit der Technik des Focus–Stackings, also dem „schichtweisen“ Aufnehmen eines Motivs mit optimaler, relativ offener Blende, und dem anschließenden Verrechnen der Einzelaufnahmen entstehen Bilder mit nahezu unbegrenzter Tiefenschärfe und sehr hoher Abbildungsqualität. Integriert in einen durchdachten Workflow ist der Weg zum fertigen Bild nur unwesentlich länger als mit der althergebrachten Tilt/Shift-Technik. Das Ergebnis ist dabei in vielen Fällen weitaus besser.

Die Technik des Focus–Stackings stammt aus der Makrofotografie, sie lässt sich mit dem entsprechenden Equipment jedoch auch hervorragend in der Architektur-, Landschafts- und Studiofotografie einsetzen.

Nach einer kurzen theoretischen Einführung tauchen wir am ersten Tag zunächst in die Welt der Studiofotografie ein. Dazu stehen mehrere Sets mit Objekten in unterschiedlichen Abbildungsgrößen (Makrobereich) zur Verfügung. Mit den bereitgestellten Equipments von ALPA, Novoflex und PhaseOne erkunden wir spannende, möglicherweise auch abstrakte Bildwelten. Diesen Teil des Kurses leiten die Spezialisten der drei Herstellerfirmen.

Am zweiten Workshop-Tag widmen wir uns dem Einsatz des Focus-Stackings in der Architekturfotografie. Auch hier kann das umfangreiche Equipment praxisnah getestet werden. Der Architekturfotograf Alexander Schippel steht den Workshopteilnehmer*innen gemeinsam mit den drei Instruktoren unterstützend zur Seite. Den Abschluss des Workshops bildet die Besprechung der Ergebnisse.




Veranstaltungsort
Industriegebiet Oberschöneweide, Berlin

Partner
p: photography unlimited
Phase One
Novoflex


REGISTRATION
Register Now! or call 0049 (0)30 64 07 23 55


Links

Workshops in Berlin
Behind the Scenes by Ralph Rosenbauer
Newsletter ALPA
Newsletter p:unlimited



News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker