ALPA Workshops 2019

02.2019 - After the successful workshops last year, we are planning another series of events for 2019. Berlin has proven to be a successful venue and so an "Architecture and Industrial Photography Workshop" and a "Phocus Stacking" workshop will take place in cooperation with p: photography unlimited and ALPA partners. We will again inform you about events in the 2nd semester 2019 in a timely manner.

Architecture and Industrial Photography

6-7 April in German
13-14 April in English

The participation fee is 350 €, which includes two lunches.

Architectural photography is often referred to as the "supreme discipline" of photography, since it not only places very high demands on the quality of the material, but also requires a trained eye and a good spatial understanding of buildings on the part of the photographers. This discipline has always been a domain of large formats and cameras with the possibility of perspective corrections such as shift and tilt.

In the two-day workshop "Architecture and Industrial Photography in the Digital Medium Format", the max. 10 participants work out their personal perspective on an outstanding building of industrial history in Oberschöneweide and its use on the first day. The focus will be on the design possibilities with cameras from the manufacturer ALPA and digital backs from PhaseOne. Among others, the brand new ALPA Plus and the new IQ 150 MP are available.

The second day of the workshop will be dedicated to the development of the image series, the special features of PhaseOne CaptureOne (such as Lens Color Cast Correction and Distortion Correction) and the fine art print of some selected images with large format printers (such as Epson). The course is led by specialists from ALPA, Phase One and Alexander Schippel (architectural photographer and board member of p: photography unlimited e.V.).

The locations: The industrial area in Oberschöneweide was one of the most important industrial locations in Germany and is closely linked to the history of AEG, which rose from here to become a global industrial group. Industrial buildings designed by architects such as Peter Behrens (founding member of the Munich Secession and the Deutscher Werkbund) still characterise the district today.

The rooms of p: photography unlimited e.V. are located in house 15 of the former battery factory (AFA/VARTA). On the loft-like ground floor, the large training room and the digital laboratory are available for the workshop.


Flyers
Architecture and Industrial Photography in Digital Medium Format - 04.2019
Architektur- und Industriefotografie im digitalen Mittelformat - 04.2019







Focus Stacking in Studio and Architectural Photography

11-12 May in German
18-19 May in English

The participation fee is 450 € which includes two lunches.

The (physically limited) depth of field has always been one of the most important challenges in photography. In digital photography, with its constantly increasing resolution of image data, even the technique of classically stopping down no longer solves the problem. Due to the ever smaller pixels on image sensors, stopping down very quickly leads to line distortions, thus to visibly inaccurate photographic scene depictions and significantly less sharp images. However, digital image processing also results in new solutions.

With the technology of focus stacking, i.e. the „layerwise“ shooting of a subject with an optimal, relatively open aperture, and the subsequent calculation of the individual shots, images are created with an almost unlimited depth of field and thus extremely accurate scene depictions and image quality. Integrated into a well thought-out work flow, the path to the finished image is only slightly longer than with the traditional tilt/shift technique and in many cases, will produce far exceeding results.

The focus stacking technique originates from macro photography. With the appropriate equipment it can also be applied in still life photography as well as architectural and landscape photography. On the first day of the workshop we will dive into the world of studio photography after a short theoretical introduction. For this, several objects in varying sizes will be set up, allowing us to explore exciting and possibly abstract photographic worlds with equipment from ALPA, Novoflex and Phase One. The course will be led by specialists from ALPA, Novoflex and Phase One.

On the second day we will work with the technique of focus stacking in architectural photography. Again, the extensive equipment will be available to participants for testing and use, along with the accompaniment of the above mentioned instructors and the architectural photographer Alexander Schippel. The workshop will conclude with a group discussion of the results.



Venue
Oberschöneweide Industry Area, Berlin Germany

Partner
p: photography unlimited
Phase One
Novoflex




REGISTRATION
Register Now! or call 0049 (0)30 64 07 23 55


LINKS
Workshops in Berlin
Behind the Scenes by Ralph Rosenbauer
Newsletter ALPA
Newsletter p:unlimited


News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

ALPA Workshops 2019

02.2019 - Nach den erfolgreichen Workshops im letzten Jahr, planen wir auch für 2019 wiederum eine Folge von Veranstaltungen. Berlin hat sich als Veranstaltungsort bewährt und so sollen eine "Architektur- und Industrie-Photographie-Workshop" und ein Workshop "Phocus Stacking" in Zusammenarbeit mit p: photography unlimited und ALPA-Partnern stattfinden. Über Veranstaltungen in 2. Semester 2019 werden wir wiederum zeitnah informieren.

Architektur- und Industrie-Photographie

6./7. April auf Deutsch
13./14. April auf Englisch

Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt 350€, inkl. zwei Mahlzeiten.

Architekturfotografie wird gerne als »Königsdisziplin« der Fotografie bezeichnet, da sie nicht nur sehr hohe qualitative Anforderungen an das Material stellt, sondern von den Fotograf*innen auch einen geschulten Blick und ein gutes räumliches Verständnis von Gebäuden erfordert. Von je her bildet diese Disziplin eine Domäne der großen Aufnahmeformate und von Kameras mit der Möglichkeit zu perspektivischen Korrekturen, wie Shift und Tilt.

In dem zweitätigen Workshop »Architektur- und Industriefotografie im digitalen Mittelformat« erarbeiten die max. 10 Teilnehmer*innen am ersten Tag ihre ganz persönliche Perspektive auf ein heraus-ragendes Gebäude der Industriegeschichte in Oberschöneweide und dessen Nutzung. Dabei liegt der Focus auf den Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten mit Kameras des Herstellers ALPA und digitalen Backs von PhaseOne. Unter anderem stehen die nagelneue ALPA Plus und auch das neue IQ 150 MP zur Verfügung.

Der zweite Tag des Workshops widmet sich der Ausarbeitung der Bilderserie über die speziellen Features von PhaseOne CaptureOne (etwa Lens Color Cast Correction und die Verzeichnungskorrektur) bis hin zum Fine-Art-Print von einigen ausgewählten Aufnahmen mit Großformatdruckern (bspw. Epson). Der Kurs wird geleitet von Spezialisten der Firma ALPA, Phase One und von Alexander Schippel (Architekturfotograf und Vorstand von p: photography unlimited e.V.)

Die Locations: Das Industriegebiet in Oberschöneweide war einer der bedeutendsten Industriestandorte in Deutschland und ist eng verbunden mit der Geschichte der AEG, die von hier zum weltweittätigen Industriekonzern aufstieg. Industriegebäude von Architekten wie beispielsweise Peter Behrens (Gründungsmitglied der Münchner Sezession und des Deutschen Werkbunds) prägen bis heute das Stadtviertel.

Die Räume von p: photography unlimited e.V. befinden sich in Haus 15 der ehemaligen Batteriefabrik (AFA/VARTA). Im loftartigen Erdgeschoss stehen der große Schulungsraum und das digitale Labor für den Workshop zur Verfügung.




Focus Stacking in der Studio- und Architekturfotografie

11./12. Mai auf Deutsch
18./19. Mai auf Englisch

Die Teilnahmegebühr beträgt 450€ inkl. zwei Mahlzeiten.

Die (physikalisch bedingt) begrenzte Schärfentiefe stellt beim Fotografieren schon immer eine der wichtigsten Herausforderungen dar. In der digitalen Fotografie mit ihrer stetig höher werdenden Auflösung der Bilddaten führt selbst klassisches Abblenden nicht mehr zur Lösung des Problems. Durch die immer kleiner werdenden Pixel auf den Aufnahmesensoren führt Abblenden sehr schnell zu Beugungseffekten und damit zu einer sichtbar schlechteren Abbildungsleistung und deutlich unschärferen Bildern. Durch die digitale Bildbearbeitung ergeben sich aber erfreulicherweise auch neue Lösungen.

Mit der Technik des Focus–Stackings, also dem „schichtweisen“ Aufnehmen eines Motivs mit optimaler, relativ offener Blende, und dem anschließenden Verrechnen der Einzelaufnahmen entstehen Bilder mit nahezu unbegrenzter Tiefenschärfe und sehr hoher Abbildungsqualität. Integriert in einen durchdachten Workflow ist der Weg zum fertigen Bild nur unwesentlich länger als mit der althergebrachten Tilt/Shift-Technik. Das Ergebnis ist dabei in vielen Fällen weitaus besser.

Die Technik des Focus–Stackings stammt aus der Makrofotografie, sie lässt sich mit dem entsprechenden Equipment jedoch auch hervorragend in der Architektur-, Landschafts- und Studiofotografie einsetzen.

Nach einer kurzen theoretischen Einführung tauchen wir am ersten Tag zunächst in die Welt der Studiofotografie ein. Dazu stehen mehrere Sets mit Objekten in unterschiedlichen Abbildungsgrößen (Makrobereich) zur Verfügung. Mit den bereitgestellten Equipments von ALPA, Novoflex und PhaseOne erkunden wir spannende, möglicherweise auch abstrakte Bildwelten. Diesen Teil des Kurses leiten die Spezialisten der drei Herstellerfirmen.

Am zweiten Workshop-Tag widmen wir uns dem Einsatz des Focus-Stackings in der Architekturfotografie. Auch hier kann das umfangreiche Equipment praxisnah getestet werden. Der Architekturfotograf Alexander Schippel steht den Workshopteilnehmer*innen gemeinsam mit den drei Instruktoren unterstützend zur Seite. Den Abschluss des Workshops bildet die Besprechung der Ergebnisse.




Veranstaltungsort
Industriegebiet Oberschöneweide, Berlin

Partner
p: photography unlimited
Phase One
Novoflex


REGISTRATION
Register Now! or call 0049 (0)30 64 07 23 55


Links

Workshops in Berlin
Behind the Scenes by Ralph Rosenbauer
Newsletter ALPA
Newsletter p:unlimited



News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker