ALPA Spotlight: Burk Uzzle

10.2018 - Burk Uzzle. Photographer - We at ALPA are fascinated by the work of Burk Uzzle for a long time. On the one hand, it's his impressive body of work he collected over the last 66 years since he got his first camera in the early 1950s. Or on the other hand, his feeling for his subjects and topic he is working on. In a time were a lot of people are afraid of the social changes happening around them, Burk ventures on to tell the stories that those people need to hear.

Maybe some readers have never heard the name Burk Uzzle, but we bet, you have seen some of his photographs. Like his friend Henri Cartier Bresson, Burk Uzzle witnessed many historic moments of the 20th century and documented them with his camera.



Barn Wall with Lava ©Burk Uzzle


Burk Uzzle’s career, like his pictures, is a nuanced composition blending American culture, individual psyches of particular places or people, and an atypical way of seeing ourselves, our values, and our community. Always respectful yet locating the poignant or quirky, the history of his narrative belongs to all of us. Initially grounded in documentary photography when he was the youngest photographer ever hired by LIFE magazine at age 23, his work then grew into a combination of split-second impressions reflecting the human condition during his tenure as a member of the prestigious international Magnum cooperative founded by one of his mentors Henri Cartier-Bresson.

For fifteen years, Uzzle was an active contributor to the evolution of the organization and served as its President in 1979 and 1980. During the sixteen years, he was associated with Magnum, he produced some of the most recognizable images we have of Woodstock (album cover and worldwide reproduction of its iconic couple hugging at dawn) to the assassination and funeral of Martin Luther King Jr. to our comprehension for the experience of Cambodian war refugees.

His archive spans almost six decades. His current work rests deep in photographic appreciation of the quiet, strong, and eloquent beauty he discovers in America’s small towns and its people. Uzzle’s current body of work is the production of artful and constructed reflections of his subjects, many of whom are African-American residents proximal to his studio in North Carolina. Their layers of experience are conjoined with Uzzle’s fundamental appreciation for unseen characteristics, which he ably captures in a collaborative, interpretive context.



“Remains” by Jethro Waters featuring Burk Uzzle

"We are toolmakers" is the credo of ALPA. We derive the motivation to design, construct and manufacture our tools from the joy of photography. We believe in the power of the image and rejoice every time over the unique works that our friends and customers create with our instruments.

The galleries and portfolios on our website and on the social media channels reflect the work of "our" photographers and give a vivid impression of their daily work.

Unfortunately, while we see the results of our work day in, day out, we rarely have the pleasure of "looking over their shoulders" at work, as well as gaining insight into their lives, thinking, and believing.

One of these rare but very intense insights is provided by the film "Remains" by our friend Jethro Waters, who portrays Burk Uzzle in his photographic exploration of a relic of the current political controversy in the USA.




Burk Uzzle has been an iconic photographer since the early 1960s. Life Magazine, Magnum Photos, innumerable publications, museums, and art galleries have all benefitted from Burk's immeasurable talents and sensibilities behind the lens. As a southerner, born and raised in North Carolina, a great deal of his work as a photographer has been focused on exploring southern identity. In August of 2017, protestors toppled a Civil War monument of a Confederate soldier, in Durham, North Carolina. In August of 2018, Burk was granted permission to photograph that same statue. "Remains" is a commentary on Southern identity in 2018 through Burk's lens, and through his own words. As a companion piece to "F/11 and Be There" (Trailer) a feature film about Burk's life and work, "Remains" is also an extension of the primary message within that film - equality.

Our verdict on "Remains": Absolutely worth seeing!

"Remains" marks the beginning of a new series under the working title "New / Old South" - we are already looking forward to the results of working with our tools. Stay tuned!

LINKS

Portfolio: Burk Uzzle
Portfolio: Social Issues
Website: Burk Uzzle Official
Photographer's page: Uzzle, Burk
Interview:The Evolved Documentarian


Remains ©Burk Uzzle


News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

ALPA Spotlight: Burk Uzzle

10.2018 - Burk Uzzle, Fotograf - Wir bei ALPA sind seit langem von der Arbeit von Burk Uzzle fasziniert. Einerseits ist es sein beeindruckendes Werk, das er in den letzten 66 Jahren gesammelt hat, seit er Anfang der 1950er Jahre seine erste Kamera bekam. Andererseits sein Gespür für die Themen, an denen er arbeitet. In einer Zeit, in der viele Menschen Angst vor den sozialen Veränderungen um sie herum haben, wagt sich Burk an die Geschichten, die diese Menschen hören müssen.
 
Vielleicht gibt es einige Leser, die den Namen Burk Uzzle noch nie gehört haben, aber bestimmt kennen Sie einige seiner Fotos. Wie sein Freund Henri Cartier Bresson, erlebt Burk Uzzle viele historische Momente des 20. Jahrhunderts und dokumentiert sie mit der Kamera.
 

Barn Wall with Lava ©Burk Uzzle
 
Burk Uzzles Karriere ist, wie seine Bilder, eine nuancierte Komposition. Sie verbindet die amerikanische Kultur, individuelle Psychen an bestimmten Orten oder Menschen und eine atypische Art, sich selbst, unsere Werte und unsere Gemeinschaft zu sehen. Immer respektvoll und doch das Schärfste oder Eigenartige findend, gehören seine Erzählungen uns allen. Ursprünglich in der Dokumentarfotografie tätig – im Alter von 23 Jahren wurde er als jüngster Fotograf überhaupt beim LIFE-Magazin eingestellt - entwickelte sich seine Arbeit zu einer Kombination von sekundenschnellen Eindrücken, die die menschliche Verfassung widerspiegeln. Prägend war dabei auch seine Mitgliedschaft in der angesehenen internationalen Magnum-Genossenschaft, die von einem seiner Mentoren Henri Cartier-Bresson gegründet wurde.
 
Fünfzehn Jahre lang trug Uzzle aktiv zur Entwicklung des Unternehmens bei und war 1979 und 1980 dessen Präsident. Während der sechzehn Jahre, in denen er mit Magnum verbunden war, produzierte er einige der bekanntesten Bilder, die wir von Woodstock haben (Albumcover und weltweite Reproduktion des legendären Paares, das sich im Morgengrauen umarmt), die Ermordung und Beerdigung von Martin Luther King Jr. mit unserem Verständnis für die Erfahrung kambodschanischer Kriegsflüchtlinge.
 
Sein Archiv umfasst fast sechs Jahrzehnte. Seine aktuelle Arbeit ruht tief in der fotografischen Wertschätzung der stillen, starken und eloquenten Schönheit, die er in den kleinen Städten Amerikas und seinen Menschen entdeckt. Uzzle's aktuelles Werk ist die Produktion von kunstvollen und konstruierten Reflexionen seiner Motive, viele davon afroamerikanische Bewohner in der Nähe seines Studios in North Carolina. Ihre Erfahrungsschichten verbinden sich mit Uzzles grundlegender Wertschätzung für unsichtbare Eigenschaften, die er in einem kollaborativen, interpretativen Kontext geschickt einfängt.
 
 
 
"Remains" von Jethro Waters mit Burk Uzzle
 
"Wir sind Werkzeugmacher" ist das Credo der ALPA. Die Motivation, unsere Werkzeuge zu entwerfen, zu konstruieren und herzustellen, leiten wir aus der Freude am Fotografieren ab. Wir glauben an die Kraft des Bildes und freuen uns jedes Mal über die einzigartigen Werke, die unsere Freunde und Kunden mit unseren Instrumenten schaffen.
 
Die Galerien und Portfolios auf unserer Website und den Social Media Kanälen spiegeln die Arbeit "unserer" Fotografen wider, und geben einen lebendigen Eindruck von ihrer täglichen Arbeit.
 
Leider haben wir, während wir die Ergebnisse unserer Arbeit Tag für Tag sehen, selten das Vergnügen, bei ihrer Entstehung "über die Schulter zu schauen", und Einblicke in ihr Leben, Denken und Glauben zu gewinnen.
 
Eine dieser seltenen, aber sehr intensiven Einblicke bietet der Film "Remains" von unserem Freund Jethro Waters, der Burk Uzzle in seiner fotografischen Auseinandersetzung mit einem Relikt der aktuellen politischen Kontroverse in den USA zeigt.


 

Burk Uzzle ist seit den frühen 1960er Jahren ein legendärer Fotograf. LIFE-Magazine, Magnum Photos, unzählige Publikationen, Museen und Kunstgalerien haben alle von Burks unermesslichen Talenten und Sensibilitäten hinter der Linse profitiert. Als Südstaatler, in North Carolina geboren und aufgewachsen, hat sich ein Großteil seiner Arbeit als Fotograf auf die Erforschung der südlichen Identität konzentriert. Im August 2017 stürzten Demonstranten in Durham, North Carolina, ein Bürgerkriegsdenkmal eines konföderierten Soldaten. Im August 2018 erhielt Burk die Erlaubnis, die gleiche Statue zu fotografieren. "Remains" ist ein Kommentar zur südlichen Identität im Jahr 2018 durch Burks Objektiv und durch seine eigenen Worte. Als Begleitstück zu "F/11 and Be There" (Trailer), einem Spielfilm über Burks Leben und Werk, ist "Remains" auch eine Erweiterung der primären Botschaft innerhalb dieses Films - Gleichheit.
 
Unser Urteil zu "Remains": Absolut sehenswert!
 
"Remains" markiert den Beginn einer neuen Serie unter dem Arbeitstitel "New / Old South" - wir freuen uns bereits auf weitere Ergebnisse der Arbeit mit unseren Werkzeugen. Bleiben Sie dran!

LINKS

Portfolio: Burk Uzzle
Portfolio: Social Issues
Website: Burk Uzzle Official
Photographer's page: Uzzle, Burk
Interview:The Evolved Documentarian


Remains ©Burk Uzzle

News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker