"A Decade of Seeing“

02.2019 - "The animal has secrets which, unlike the secrets of caves, mountains, seas, are specifically addressed to man." - John Berger, Why Look at Animals?


"A Decade of Seeing“

Everard Read London
80 Fulham Road, London SW3 6HR

Opening: Tuesday 12 February 6-8pm
Exhibition: 13 February - 2 March 2019


"The animal has secrets which, unlike the secrets of caves, mountains, seas, are specifically addressed to man." - John Berger, Why Look at Animals?

Everard Read London is pleased to present A Decade of Seeing by acclaimed South African photographer, Daniel Naude.



Over the past decade, Naude has practised capturing and perfecting moments of stillness in nature. This exhibition encompasses a critical selection of works from his recent projects: Animal Farm (2007-2012), Sightings of the Sacred: Cattle in Uganda, Madagascar and India (2012-2014), Cattle of the Ages – Ankole cattle in South Africa - a project with South African President, Cyril Ramaphosa (2017) as well as his newest works of Xhosa cattle on the shore of the Eastern Cape, South Africa.


©Daniel Naude - Flowering Krantz Aloe. South Africa, June 2017.

From his early encounters with stray dogs in Africa, to his majestic images of Ankole cattle in Uganda and the Zebu cattle in Madagascar, Naude manages to create the impression of time standing still. His portraits are also an attempt to create an enduring memory of what humanity is slowly and surely destroying.

"My decision to take a particular image of an animal emerges from a reciprocity between us, a singular moment in which my presence and that of the animal merge. This moment is not stage-managed. .... The animal's bearing cannot be arranged or controlled. It does not pose; there is no pretence or acting. .... Despite this, or perhaps because of it, it is possible to capture chraracter, to create portraits of individuals rather than records of perfect specimens." -
Daniel Naude


©Daniel Naude - Xhosa cattle at Nebelele river mouth. Eastern Cape, South Africa, 2018.

"This would be my first solo exhibition in London where I have used my ALPA 12 MAX with a Rodenstock 90mm lens and Phase One IQ260 and IQ3100 digital backs. I have done full stitch on a landscape work caption: "Xhosa cattle at Nebelele river mouth. Eastern Cape, South Africa, 2 April 2018." To receive full satisfaction of this wonderful detail and image results I printed the work at the famous lab Grieger in Düsseldorf, Germany at a scale of 150cm x 150cm. The results are unbeatable and print quality is marvelous! The work is also Diasec mounted with a thin wood frame. This work will be exhibited at the Everard Read Gallery in London next week 12th of February till the 2nd of March.

ALPA has really created a camera system that replaced my unsatisfying need for working with large format photography." Daniel Naude, 2019




Links
Daniel Naude Official Website
Everard Read London

News

ALPA Log

News Ticker

"A Decade of Seeing“

02.2019 - "The animal has secrets which, unlike the secrets of caves, mountains, seas, are specifically addressed to man." - John Berger, Why Look at Animals?


"A Decade of Seeing“ - Ein Jahrzehnt des Sehens

Everard Read London
80 Fulham Road, London SW3 6HR

Vernissage: 12. Februar 18-20 Uhr
Ausstellung: 13. Februar - 2. März 2019



Everard Read London freut sich, A Decade of Seeing vom renommierten südafrikanischen Fotografen Daniel Naudé präsentieren zu können.



In den letzten zehn Jahren hat Naudé es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, Momente der Stille in der Natur festzuhalten und diese so zu perfektionieren. Die Ausstellung umfasst eine Auswahl von Werken aus seinen jüngsten Projekten: Animal Farm (2007-2012), Sightings of the Sacred: Cattle in Uganda, Madagaskar und Indien (2012-2014), Cattle of the Ages - Ankole Cattle in Südafrika - ein Projekt mit dem südafrikanischen Präsidenten Cyril Ramaphosa (2017) sowie seine neuesten Werke von Xhosa-Rindern am Ufer des Ostkaps, Südafrika.


©Daniel Naudé - Flowering Krantz Aloe. South Africa, June 2017.

Von seinen frühen Begegnungen mit streunenden Hunden in Afrika über seine majestätischen Bilder von Ankole-Rindern in Uganda bis hin zu den Zebu-Rindern in Madagaskar schafft Naudé den Eindruck, dass die Zeit stillsteht. Seine Porträts sind auch ein Versuch, eine dauerhafte Erinnerung an Dinge zu schaffen, welche die Menschheit langsam aber sicher zerstört.

"Meine Entscheidung, ein bestimmtes Bild von einem Tier zu machen, ergibt sich aus einer Wechselbeziehung zwischen uns, einem einzigartigen Moment, in dem meine Anwesenheit und die des Tieres verschmelzen. Dieser Moment ist nicht inszeniert. .... Die Haltung des Tieres kann nicht angeordnet oder kontrolliert werden. Es gibt keine Pose; es gibt keine Vortäuschung oder Handlung. .... Trotzdem, oder vielleicht gerade deshalb, ist es möglich, Chronisten zu erfassen, Einzelporträts zu erstellen und nicht Aufzeichnungen über perfekte Exemplare." -
Daniel Naudé


©Daniel Naudé - Xhosa cattle at Nebelele river mouth. Eastern Cape, South Africa, 2018.

"Dies ist meine erste Einzelausstellung in London, für welche ich mit meiner ALPA 12 MAX mit einem Rodenstock 90mm Objektiv und Phase One IQ260 und IQ3100 Digitalrückteilen gearbeitet habe. Ich habe grosse Landschaftsbilder mit Stitching erstellt, u.a.: "Xhosa cattle at Nebelele river mouth. Eastern Cape, South Africa, 2 April 2018. Um das MAximum aus diesen wunderbaren Detail- und Bildergebnissen herauszuholen, druckte ich die Arbeit im berühmten Labor Grieger in Düsseldorf im Format 150cm x 150cm. Die Ergebnisse sind unschlagbar und die Druckqualität ist fantastisch! Das Werk ist Diasec auf einem dünnen Holzrahmen montiert. Diese Arbeit wird vom 12. Februar bis zum 2. März in der Everard Read Gallery in London ausgestellt.

ALPA hat ein Kamerasystem geschaffen, das meinen unbefriedigenden Wunsch nach dem Arbeiten mit Grossformatfotografie ersetzt." Daniel Naudé, 2019




Links
Daniel Naude Official Website
Everard Read London


News

ALPA Logbuch

News Ticker